THE DUFF: DESIGNATED UGLY FAT FRIEND by Kody Keplinger | Review

Title: The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend

Author: Kody Keplinger

Book #: Standalone

Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Chick Lit, Contemporary

Publication: September 2010 by LittleBrown/Poppy

Pages: 280

Author’s Website and Twitter

Rating: combinhe_images

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “the Duff,” she throws her Coke in his face.

But things aren’t so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

Synopsis from Goodreads.com

“Your sense of humor needs some work, then,” Wesley suggested. “Most girls find my jokes charming.”
“Those girls must have IQs low enough to trip over.”

Review

This was everything I’m looking for in a young adult romance book!

I was kind of disappointed by the chick lit young adult genre, because I haven’t liked any of the books I’ve read so far. But this one totally changed my mind! The main character, the story, the love interest, everything was exactly how I wanted it!

What I liked about the main character, Bianca, was that she was not only stubborn (which is something that we often see with female protagonists), but she was also pessimistic, sarcastic and cynical. Generally a very refreshing point of view to read from! The love interest was the typical “bad boy” / man whore that we read about again and again. I kind of wish there was something more special about him, but I cannot say that I didn’t find him enjoyable and fun. There were definitely a good dynamic and a lot of witty dialogs between those two. What I also very much enjoyed were the secondary characters, like Bianca’s friends and her father, that were far from stereotypical and made the story that much more interesting.

The storyline wasn’t anything very special on its own. I actually think I’ve seen a movie where a girl is being told that she’s the ugliest of her friends, so it was not the most original plot. The thing that made it special was Bianca’s character and if it wasn’t for her, this would be a typical love story and would have nothing interesting about it.

I could definitely see this being turned into a movie, as it’s one of the best romance/chick-lit books I’ve read!

First Line

This was getting old.

Recommend it for…

  • a quick and easy read
  • fans of sassy, cynical characters

combinhe_images

9 thoughts on “THE DUFF: DESIGNATED UGLY FAT FRIEND by Kody Keplinger | Review

  1. ONE OF MY FAVE BOOKS. EVER. I remember seeing it in the “used” section on Amazon & thought “Hmm..could be cool” it was .01 cent & 3.99 S&H. 4.00$ basically. The paper slip cover is gone. Its just a yellow hard cover book, with a faded DUFF, printed on the spine.
    I read that book like it was my last opportunity on this earth to read a book.
    One of my more popular reviews too.
    I LOVED Bianca and Wes! Their witty banter was lightening quick. I love when a “snarky” (HATE that word btw) person meets their counterpart. Its like watching verbal magic happen. Does that make sense?
    Bianca MADE the book IMO. Like you said, without her and her characters style, it would of been an entertaining but “ho-hum” every day chick lit/ya/teen/romance style story.
    GREAT review Nadia.

    • Thank you so much!!! I also got it from the library because I couldn’t find anything more interesting at the moment, but ended up enjoying it SO much! Bianca’s character and the dialogs were definitely the best things about this book and the thing that made it stand out! I really enjoyed it!

  2. I’ve had this on my bookshelf for quite a while but still hadn’t got to, was a little put off because I thought it would be your stereotypical teen romance book. But now I am really intrigued and will definitely make a point of getting to it soon! Great review 🙂

  3. Pingback: Mae Whitman To Star In Kody Keplinger’s The DUFF | Young Adult Hollywood

Leave a comment