THE NAME OF THE WIND by Patrick Rothfuss | Review

Title: The Name of the Wind

Author: Patrick Rothfuss

Book #: 1 in “the Kingkiller Chronicle”

Genres: Adult, Fantasy

Publication: April 2009, by DAW Trade

Pages: 722

Author’s Website

Rating: combinej_images

This is the riveting first-person narrative of Kvothe, a young man who grows to be one of the most notorious magicians his world has ever seen. From his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, to years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-riddled city, to his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a legendary school of magic, The Name of the Wind is a masterpiece that transports readers into the body and mind of a wizard.

Synopsis from Goodreads.com

Reasons for not Finishing

To be honest, I found nothing appealing in this book. For the first 50 pages the story was incredibly uninteresting. Then there was a change in plot, as the protagonist started narrating his story, which is actually the story of the book. So why exactly did I have to read all those 50 pages of unimportant details? Anyway, I thought the story was going to pick up after that, but it didn’t. At least not in the next 50 pages at which point I decided to give up and start reading something else.

So I obviously had major issues with the plot, but it was also the characters I had problems with. The main character and narrator, Kvothe, is really arrogant and full of himself, in my opinion, which pretty much annoyed me. Up to the point where I stopped reading there weren’t really any other important or interesting characters. At least no one stood out to me.

So considering that this book is 722 pages long, the second one more than 1000 and there’s also a third one to come, I decided to stop wasting my time. In defense of the book let me add that this is not something I would just see on a shelf and think that I might like it. I had just heard a lot of good things about it and thought I’d give it a try, but from the beginning I was not sure if it was going to be something I would like. And it wasn’t.

First Line

It was felling night, and the usual crowd had gathered at the Waystone Inn.

Recommend it for…

  • People who enjoy adult fantasy
  • People who are patient enough to read around 3000 pages to finish this series

combinej_images

7 thoughts on “THE NAME OF THE WIND by Patrick Rothfuss | Review

  1. I have to agree. I tried NotW and, while the writing itself wasn’t bad, I was bored. (I’m not saying it was horrible… There’s far, far worse out there.) It just strikes me as strange. The literary agents out there are all pounding their pulpits with the exact mantra: “The novel must grab the readers by the throat and force them to read on!” And so, how did this book get published?

    • Yeah, I also didn’t think it was terrible, but I was really wondering how other people seemed to like it so much! Maybe it gets better if you keep reading, but definitely not in the first 100 pages!

      • Yes- I stopped at around 90 or so. And the agents all tell you that that is a cardinal sin… That the starting sections must be enticing, or the book will be tossed.

  2. Useless information is so fun :l. I don’t mind it if it’s necessary to the later plot, but most just seem like it’s there to drag the book out longer, and at 722 pages? That does not to be dragged out any longer. 1000 for the next one? I’m staying well away from these, haha. Great review. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Always a fool. ~ Rothfuss « Dancing with Fireflies

  4. Pingback: The Wise Man’s Fear | Fantasy Books!

Leave a Reply

