MOCKINGJAY by Suzanne Collins | Review

Title: Mockingjay
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book #: 3 in the “Hunger Games” trilogy
Genres: young adult, dystopian
Publication: December 2011, by Scholastic
Pages: 438
Author’s Website
Source: purchased
Format: paperback
Rating: αρχείο λήψης (1)

Goodreads 

Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice. But she’s still not safe. A revolution is unfolding, and everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plans – everyone except Katniss.

And yet she must play the most vital part in the final battle. Katniss must become their Mockingjay – the symbol of rebellion – no matter what the personal cost.

Synopsis from Goodreads.com

 

“Well, don’t expect us to be too impressed. We just saw Finnick Odair in his underwear.” 

Review

Ahh… the last book in the trilogy. I have very mixed feelings about this book. Or maybe I don’t have very nice feelings about this book would be more accurate. I was quite disappointed, to be honest. I really wanted this series to end with another amazing book and a lot of plot twists, but that is not exactly what I got.

Let me start from the beginning. The second book ended with quite a major cliff-hanger. Katniss gets rescued from the hunger games and finds out that Peeta got captured by the Capitol. On top of that District 12, her home, has been destroyed and she is heading to District 13, which everyone thought had been utterly destroyed.

In contrast to the previous two books, I actually liked the beginning of this one. I was anxious to see where the story would go now that the whole county was in a revolution and I wanted to find out more about District 13. Unfortunately, my excitement subsided quite quickly. The first thing that started annoying me was, once again, Katniss. Highlight text to view spoiler: I had some issues with her from the second book already, but in the third one she got more and more annoying. I honestly couldn’t deal with her whining anymore! I get that most of you probably don’t agree with me since Katniss is a favorite character of so many people, but I’m really fed up with her after the third book. I don’t get why everyone thinks she so selfless. I found her to be exactly the opposite. Ok, she was worried about Peeta, but there was so much more at steak. Lives of millions of people were about to change and she was thinking about the people she killed in the hunger games. When everyone else was killing each other because of the war anyway! And all they wanted her to do was become the “mascot” and help the revolution that way. And she couldn’t even agree to that, even though it seems like she was agreeing with the idea of overthrowing the Capitol.

Enough about Katniss, though. The other thing that I found very confusing was the situation in District 13. It seemed very weird and I couldn’t quite understand it. It’s very hard to describe without spoilers, so if you’ve read the book highlight the text to view spoiler: They all had this schedule that they HAD to follow, everyone was assigned a certain activity whether they liked it or not and they were even controlled on what and how much they would eat. Excuse me, but they’re supposed to be trying to create a better life for themselves, right? What the heck? This seems like complete lack of freedom and the even weirder thing was, I didn’t see anyone complaining about it! What is going on?

Moving on with the book, there were some parts that I found entertaining, like some action scenes. There were also some plot twists (mostly the one regarding Peeta) that I really enjoyed, but other than that I can’t say I found anything positive in the book. While reading it I was thinking it would be an “ok” book, but the ending completely pissed me off! Highlight text to view spoiler: Katniss gets married and has children? What? That was the one thing she said she didn’t want to do from book one! And why did she do it? Not because she changed her mind. Not because the hunger games were no more. Not even because the world had become a better place. But because Peeta wanted to. Ok. That makes total sense. Just do what the man tells you to do. Am I the only one who finds this misogynistic and completely anti-feministic? I was absolutely furious when I read that and decided to rate the book 2 stars instead of the 3 it would probably get from me if it weren’t for that.

And just one last thing I would like to discuss regarding the new state of things. Highlight text to view spoiler: What the hell is the new system exactly? Katniss killed president Coin because she was apparently exactly the same as Snow. Can’t say I disagree with that. But what happens then? In the end we see Katniss living in District 12 along with a few people, but what happens to the whole system? Because up to that point it didn’t seem like they had found anything better than the one that already existed? Is this supposed to have some deeper meaning of “the world never changes – people never change”? Or what is it exactly? I was quite confused about this aspect of the book.

So, all in all I can’t say I liked this book at all. The only reason I gave it 2 stars instead of 1 was because of how much I liked the previous books. It had a couple of redeeming aspects, but if it were a standalone it would probably get 1 star from me.

P.S. Sorry for the many spoilery parts. I found it very difficult to write a non-spoiler review about this.

Opening Line

I stare down at my shoes, watching as a fine layer of ash settles on the worn leather.

Mini Review

Completely disappointed by the last book.
I didn’t like neither the story nor the characters anymore.
I would say I liked the series as a whole, but the last book was just so bad!

Recommend it for…

  • fans of dystopians

αρχείο λήψης (1)

4 thoughts on “MOCKINGJAY by Suzanne Collins | Review

  1. I remember reading this book and being pretty disappointed. I didn’t dislike it quite as much as you did but when I re-read Hunger Games and Catching Fire for the last movie release to refresh my memory, I definitely skipped on continuing on to Mockingjay. I won’t subject myself to that until the final movies are released and even then it will definitely be a struggle to pick out the things I really like. Katniss was just awful in this book. Couldn’t stand her. Great review! 🙂

    • I couldn’t stand Katniss either! When I finished the book I actually thought it was ok, but the more I thought about it the more annoying I found it! Especially the epilogue was completely frustrating!

Leave a Reply

