The YA Bubble

The A to Z Challenge is an annual blogging challenge. It isn’t restricted to book blogs – all kinds of blogs can participate. It takes place every year in April and during that month you have to write a post on the designated days (all except Sundays). These posts must have some correlation to the letter of the day. So, there will be a total of 26 posts starting from the letter A and ending with Z. Here is a list of all my posts.

 

I recently wrote a post about how I don’t read diversely enough and it got me thinking why it is that I (almost) always read young adult books lately. I have a bunch of adult books that I want to read, but every time I’m in a bookstore, for example, I go directly to the young adult shelf. Basically, I’m stuck in this huge YA bubble and I can’t seem to find my way out!

I believe, the biggest reason for that is because I’m also stuck in the book blogging and booktubing bubble. And both those communities are within the YA bubble! Ok, there’s too much “Bubble-talk” here. I hope you can understand what I’m saying. The book blogging/tubing world is filled with YA books.

And I’ve been thinking about how I really REALLY want to branch out! I wanna see what adults are reading. I wanna be able to take part in conversations about other books. But I can’t! I don’t know why! Is it because I’m scared to read other books? Is it because I enjoy YA books so much? Is it because I don’t know so many adult books? I don’t know. But I just can’t read anything else!

Having said all that, I hope you don’t get the feeling that I believe that YA books aren’t good. I love a lot of them, I love reading them and I think they’re awesome! But there are other books that are awesome too! And I have no idea what’s happening outside this world. I don’t know about any upcoming adult books. Or which ones are popular right now! Or what kind of adult genre is currently emerging!

So, that’s all! I’ll go read this new YA contemporary I started yesterday now… See you all tomorrow!

d

2 thoughts on “The YA Bubble

  1. I wrote about YA for my “Y” post today, too–but mine is just the opposite! I want to read MORE Young Adult books! 🙂 I’m asking for suggestions–please visit and leave some recommendations for me!

Leave a Reply

