XXX Content in Books

The A to Z Challenge is an annual blogging challenge. It isn’t restricted to book blogs – all kinds of blogs can participate. It takes place every year in April and during that month you have to write a post on the designated days (all except Sundays). These posts must have some correlation to the letter of the day. So, there will be a total of 26 posts starting from the letter A and ending with Z. Here is a list of all my posts.

 

Hi guys!

So today I wanted to discuss the topic of books containing sex scenes. I have to say I haven’t read a lot of these books. Young adult books rarely, or maybe even never have these kinds of scenes in them, which I guess makes sense since they are directed to a younger audience.

There is, though, a new kind of age group that has been quite famous lately, the new adult one. From what I gather these books definitely have some scenes that are quite hotter than in YA books. I have to admit that I haven’t read any new adult books yet, but I do have a bunch of them on my to-read list. The problem with these books and the reason I probably haven’t read any of them thus far, is that a lot of them seem like teen erotica. I might be wrong here, but that’s what I gather from the covers and the synopsis of most of these books.

   

See what I mean?

Personally I don’t mind reading a scene that is a bit sexier. I really hate it on the other hand, when authors just create all this sexual tension and then completely skip the part where it all happens *cough* Breaking Dawn *cough*. That can be quite frustrating! I don’t necessarily want a graphic representation or anything, but when you’re building up for a certain event and then completely jump over it, I can get annoyed!

On the other hand I know that people who are a lot younger also read young adult books, so can I really ask for that? I’m a bit conflicted! But it’s not like teenagers don’t know about sex or anything. Maybe they should characterize the books as 15 years old and over if they have some more juicy scenes. I would definitely agree with that!

d

11 thoughts on “XXX Content in Books

  1. I’ve only read three NA books so far, and thankfully none of them included very detailed sex scenes – I would have been blushing beet red if they had! Which is actually why I haven’t read more NA books, I’m so wary of picking up books with too much detail. Plus, those covers and synopses don’t exactly enthuse me either.

    In case you’re interested, the three I read are Stim and Kaleidoscope by Kevin Berry, and Misplaced by Lee Murray. 🙂

      • You’re welcome! Yes, the hype was the exact reason why all three of the ones I read were self-published, relatively unknown books. I might keep doing that for the time being until I know more of what exactly to expect from books that are marketed as NA 🙂

  2. EXACTLY BREAKING DAWN. I missed the entire sexual part. I just didn’t understand it. She was suddenly pregnant and then I had to read back and I saw that they “disappeared into the room”. Innocent me didn’t understand that.

  3. Haha! There are actually quite a handful of YA books with sex, but they’re usually just implied or mentioned, like in Shadow Kiss, The Iron Queen and some others. I have read a lot of NA books and they are definitely steamier! I’m not a fan of NA though, which is quite a disappointment. All of the new adult books I’ve read so far have been boring for me. 😦

  4. This is why I’m scared of NA, don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind sex scenes in my books, but like you said, some of NA is like erotica for a younger audience, and no no no. I do not want to read that. If I wanted to read that, I’d just read erotica. Like I said, I don’t mind them in books as long as it’s done well, you know? Not that it’s there because it’s NA and has to be there. If there’s a build-up and a proper relationship and not a “Oh, we met each other five minutes ago, time to jump each others bones.” :/ I have come across more of YA with sex in, it seems to be more open in newly released books which is great because it’s a part of growing up and it shouldn’t be shown as something to be embarrassed about. It’s funny though, because you can see the change in YA now to YA then (like the Roswell High series compared to, say, the Lux series.) Totally different in the romance side of things.

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

    • Yes, I can understand what you’re saying! I remember reading the princess diaries which was one of the most popular ya a few years back and it’s nothing like the yas I’m reading now. It was mostly girls who were considering if they would allow their boyfriends to kiss them or not. So nothing like the newest YA books!

  5. I’ve kind of given up on the NA genre because of this. I really don’t mind explicit sex scenes as long as they are adding to the story and characters. I hate when they serve no purpose or are raunchy just for the sake of begin raunchy or use sex as a way to solve life’s problems.

    I really loved two books you have pictured above – Easy and Losing it (I actually like Faking It *book 2 more)

    Karen @ For What It’s Worth

Leave a Reply

