CATCHING FIRE by Suzanne Collins | Review

Title: Catching Fire
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book #: 2 in the “Hunger Games” trilogy
Genres: young adult, dystopian
Publication: 2011, by Scholastic
Pages: 439
Author’s Website
Source: purchased
Format: paperback
Rating: αρχείο λήψης (5)

Goodreads 

Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark are still alive. Katniss should be relieved, but now there are whispers of a rebellion against the Capitol – a rebellion that Katniss and Peeta may have helped create.

As the nation watches Katniss and Peeta, the stakes are higher than ever. One false move and the consequences will be unimaginable.

Synopsis from Goodreads.com

 

“So it’s you and a syringe against the Capitol? See, this is why no one lets you make the plans.” 

Review

I started reading this book right after I finished with the Hunger Games and finished it in a couple of days. I have to say I was a bit bored during the first half, but the second half was absolutely amazing!

The book starts a while after the hunger games have finished and shows us the life of Katniss back at District 12. The only problem is that after Katniss’ act of rebellion in the last hunger games  a spark has ignited and there are small outbursts of rebellion all around the country.

The only thing I liked in the beginning of the book was the dynamics between Katniss, Haymitch and Peeta. It was a lot of fun seeing how their relationship was like in everyday life and how the hunger games have brought them closer. I also started liking Haymitch more and more. He was an interesting character from the first book and I loved reading more about him! One thing I felt was missing was Prim. In the first book we get the sense that the two sisters are very close to each other and Katniss spends a lot of time with her, but in the second book that relationship is hardly there. I was expecting them to be together all the time now that Katniss is back from the arena, but that was not the case.

Katniss is quite different now after the hunger games. She is often having nightmares and isn’t as happy as she used to be. Of course I can understand how killing people and going through all these things would definitely change someone. So it is normal that she’s become harder, less approachable in some ways. I was having some difficulties connecting with her, to be honest and felt like I couldn’t identify myself with her anymore. It was a bit sad, but, as I said totally understandable that she would change after everything.

So about the story. It starts off pretty slow, in my opinion. We are back at District 12 and not much is really happening. There are some preparations about Katniss and Peeta making a tour through all of the districts as champions and there are these rumors of rebellion, but nothing like the action that was in the first book. Towards the middle, though, there is a turn of events and things get lightened up again! There is again lots of action and some great plot twists that kept me turning page after page.

I absolutely loved the second part of the book! It was full of plot twists, action scenes, new interesting characters and kick-ass Katniss. I felt like Katniss was herself once again, because I was getting tired of her being so miserable in the first part of the book. But in the second she’s back to her normal self and more kick-ass and decisive than ever!

A minus for me in this book was the romance part. It was quite absent in the whole story. I’m still not really seeing anything interesting with Peeta and we don’t see a lot of Gale again. I would prefer it if there was a little more in that department, but it was not something that bothered me too much. Just a minor disappointment.

So all in all I enjoyed this sequel very much. The second part of the book was my favorite part out of the two books! There are so many new characters introduced and I’m really liking a lot of them! I would highly recommend this series if you haven’t read it yet. Which is quite unlikely.

Opening Line

I clasp the flask between my hands even though the warmth from the tea has long since leached into the frozen air.

Mini Review

The beginning was kind of boring. I liked the second half a lot better than the first.
Towards the end it got really action packed and amazing.
In general I liked it just as much as the first book.

Recommend it for…

  • fans of dystopian
  • anyone looking for a “classic” young adult book

αρχείο λήψης (5)

4 thoughts on “CATCHING FIRE by Suzanne Collins | Review

  1. Ohhhh yes! Somebody else who was bored during the first half. I almost DNF’D it because of it. The romance part was the whole thing I didn’t like much either, but in a way it’s kind of refreshing to have a YA that’s not all about the romance, that being said, I realised how much I do kind of like having a romance a part of the book (when it’s done well, and you actually like the love interest- which we know how those can go otherwise). I found it a little hard to connect to her too, but like you said, there’s a reason for that, and I mean, it would’ve been a little weird if she wasn’t. Glad you enjoyed it overall though. 🙂

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

    • Yay! I’m not the only one! I liked the first 20 pages or so in the beginning, but then up until things started happening again, I thought it was boring. And you’re right it’s refreshing to read sth that isn’t all about the romance that’s why I said it didn’t bother me as much. But I still felt like it was missing at some points!

  2. For me it was the best book of the series! Yes, The beginning was slow but the rest of the book was really good, had a lot of action, suspense and twists. As for the love triangle generally I have many objections….

Leave a Reply

