Ugly Covers – Pretty Books

The A to Z Challenge is an annual blogging challenge. It isn’t restricted to book blogs – all kinds of blogs can participate. It takes place every year in April and during that month you have to write a post on the designated days (all except Sundays). These posts must have some correlation to the letter of the day. So, there will be a total of 26 posts starting from the letter A and ending with Z. Here is a list of all my posts.

 

Hello everyone!

I recently wrote a post about how a pretty cover can influence me into buying a book and how much of an effect it can actually have. So that post was what inspired today’s post where I want to talk about and recommend to you some of the books I’ve read that might not have the prettiest cover ever, but are still amazing books!

The first thing that fell into my mind when I first thought about this topic was the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead. I have never heard anyone saying they like these covers and I can’t disagree. I think the cover could not be worse except for the movie cover which actually managed to do the impossible – have even worse covers.

 

Same thing also goes for the Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead. Again the covers are awful, but of these series are amazing! The bloodlines is a spin-off series, so make sure to read vampire academy first, but they’re both really really great! I can’t really decide which one I love more. I think maybe Bloodlines. But it’s very close.

 

Another book I read a few months ago that has an awful cover is 1984 by George Orwell. A lot of classics have at least one edition with a pretty cover. But not 1984. In my opinion at least. The story is wonderful, though. Thought-provoking, but also interesting and easy to read. A real masterpiece.

 

Unknown by Melissa Pearl is actually a book that I won through a giveaway and I would otherwise never have picked up. I didn’t love it, but I liked it very much and maybe I’ll continue with the series. It’s definitely a lot better than what the cover suggests.

 

And last but not least, Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. I actually refused to read this book for such a long time because I hated the cover (the old one. The new design is quite good, actually!). But it’s really one of the best YA contemporary books I’ve read. Highly recommend it if you’re into fluffy, cute books.

Have you read any amazing books that don’t have amazing covers? Let me know!

d

7 thoughts on “Ugly Covers – Pretty Books

  1. I personally don’t like the old covers for Anna & Lola either. I actually bought the new ones in paperback, because I like them a lot. They are really pretty and the colors are nice. I have to agree with you on the other covers you mentioned.I don’t like them either. I’m generally not a big fan of faces on covers though.

  2. The Vampire Academy universe seems to have the worst luck when it comes to finding cover designers. I haven’t read any of the books, mostly because I’m not a super big vampire fan, but those covers do not help.

    I also agree with the original covers for Stephanie Perkins’ Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door – but then I don’t generally like picking up books with couples on the cover to begin with. I really need to read both of them though, I’ve heard such great things!

    • Anna and the french kiss is so much better than it looks! I was also very resitant on picking it up, because I just hate this cover. But then I saw the new one and decided that it’s worth a try! Lol! I’ve heard the second one is even better! Will probably read that one soon too.

      • Yes, the new covers are so much better! I’m thinking of reading them sometime this summer when it’s nice enough to lounge outside and so if I love them it won’t be too long of a wait for the last book to come out 🙂

  3. Ahhhh, okay, this might be the first time you’ve heard this but I actually do like the VA covers. Shock horror, haha. Well, the US ones, it’s because of the lighting and filters. But, ohgod the UK covers are horrible, and YES the film adaption. Yikes, but the redesigned ones with the VA stamped across them? No. No. No. Most classics have horrible covers. I know, it’s so bad to say that, but they do. Which is why I usually buy Special/Anniversary editions of them. I didn’t pick up Anna and the French Kiss until the redesigned one, you can get a vibe from it, and I don’t know it just looks like it could be for everyone, whereas the old one? I got nothing from it (except, obviously Paris.) Still haven’t read it yet though. Hmmm, I’m trying to think of another ugly cover…aha! Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak. The UK cover (the purple/pinkish one with her boxed in) it’s very appropriate, but it could’ve been done better that way.

    • Oh yeah! Speak doesn’t have a nice cover! I just checked it out… You like the VA covers? Wow! That’s really the first time I’m hearing this! Lol! Everyone has different opinions! About the classics, the original edition is usually awful. I really like the penguin english library ones and there are some special editions that are really cool! Like these leatherbound ones look very nice, I think! Unfortunately not every classic has a nice edition…

Leave a Reply

