Procrastinating vs Reading

The A to Z Challenge is an annual blogging challenge. It isn’t restricted to book blogs – all kinds of blogs can participate. It takes place every year in April and during that month you have to write a post on the designated days (all except Sundays). These posts must have some correlation to the letter of the day. So, there will be a total of 26 posts starting from the letter A and ending with Z. Here is a list of all my posts.

 

Hello guys!

So today I’d like to talk about a problem I’ve been having. PROCRASTINATION. I just can’t stop doing it. Because when is it ever over? With the possibilities (and by that I mean the internet) available nowadays when can one ever stop? I honestly don’t remember myself procrastinating that much 6-7 years ago. The internet was not yet as big and yes, of course I would read a magazine or watch TV instead of doing homework for example, but not nearly as much.

Now I can spend whole days on the internet doing absolutely nothing and don’t even realize it. Take now for example. I’ve been sitting on my computer for about 2 hours and I have no idea what I’ve been doing! It’s scary. My whole life could just go by and I wouldn’t even realize it!

What I specifically want to talk about is how procrastinating is stealing away time from my reading. I often find myself sitting on my computer thinking, “hmm… I kinda want to continue with the book I’m reading. But, no, wait. After I check goodreads in case someone has left me a comment… Oh. Wait. That book looks interesting. Maybe I should check its reviews… Hey I haven’t checked bloglovin’ in the last couple of hours. Maybe someone wrote something interesting… Oh. It’s been half an hour. I definitely have some lives on candy crush. I should go and play, before I get full lives and it stops loading more lives…It is absolutely insane! Hours of my life can go by like that when I could be reading a book that I really like.

So I don’t know what to do. I’m thinking of putting myself in an internet ban. Like allowing myself to only spend 2 hours on the internet daily so that I can have time for other things, like reading or I don’t know… life!

What do you think about this? How much time do you spend procrastinating?

d

6 thoughts on “Procrastinating vs Reading

  1. Haha, oh I know exactly what you mean. The candy crush addiction will get better, promise. I haven’t been on it for months *gasp!*. But, I would be on my laptop for hours and just be bored…but would just stay here. So now, I have a limit of so many hours a day so I can get reading (and TV, precious, precious shows I’ve been neglecting for like a year) done. I’m trying to be good. Really.

    • I hope this candy crush phase goes by quickly. I don’t even know why I like it, I’m just addicted to it! I think I’ll have to put a limit to myself too. Maybe on two hours would be good. Or maybe I’ll start with 3! lol!

  2. It’s good to know I’m not the only one who does this! I lose hours on the internet. Lately it has been to Tumblr – I’ll spend hours fiddling with my Tumblr theme, making GIFs/random graphics, or just generally browsing through tags I like. It totally saps up all of my time and before I know it it’s 2 am and time for bed. It’s crazy.

  3. Lol, Nadia! I totally get what you mean. When I start commenting back on some comments on the blog, I realize that an hour has already past and I haven’t checked social media, other blogs and goodreads yet! I have no time for reading these days. I’m also starting to get addicted to watch TV series so that’s taking my reading time too! I’m trying to set a schedule for AT LEAST one hour of reading a day. And candy crush–lol, that’s exactly what my mom does!

    • Haha! I hope the candy crash thing goes away quickly! I hate it! It’s ruining my life! lol! But yeah.. there’s so much stuff to do! Answering to comments, writing new posts, checking e-mails, social media, playing candy crash? haha!

Leave a Reply

