LGBT Books

The A to Z Challenge is an annual blogging challenge. It isn’t restricted to book blogs – all kinds of blogs can participate. It takes place every year in April and during that month you have to write a post on the designated days (all except Sundays). These posts must have some correlation to the letter of the day. So, there will be a total of 26 posts starting from the letter A and ending with Z. Here is a list of all my posts.

 

Hello guys!

It’s LGBT month! If you didn’t know, Laura over at Laura Plus Books and Gayce over at Fighting Dreamer created the April LGBT month. You can still participate in it if you like and you just have to write at least one post about this topic or read one LGBT book. Of course you can do much more if you want to!

So I was trying to make a list of all the books with LGBT characters that I’ve read and here’s what I came up with:

  • The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare
  • Marked by P.C. and Kristin Cast
  • Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

That’s all! Seriously. Oh my God! This is so embarrassing! And the LGBT characters weren’t even the protagonists in these books. They were just sidekick characters. Oh no! I knew I hadn’t read many books with LGBT characters, but I thought I’d at least be able to name 5 books that I’ve read.

So after I came in terms with having read so few of these books I have decided that I really want to do something about it! Because, really, it’s just inexcusable. So what I will do is I will pick 5 books with LGBT main (as far as I know) characters and read them by the end of 2014. And here are the books:

    

Now you might be wondering why I’m so obsessed with reading more LGBT books. I’m afraid I don’t have a very clear answer to that. I know that it frustrates me to end when I think about gay rights and how much fewer rights these people have in comparison to straight people. It’s ridiculous! Why, for example, can’t a person choose who he/she wants to be married with? If they’re both condescending adults then there shouldn’t be any problems. That is all that should matter. And don’t even get me started with homophobic people. I just can’t stand them! I can’t understand them, nor do I want to and I refuse to have any kind of interaction with them.

Anyway, back to books. I just feel like it’s my obligation in some way to read more LGBT books, so I can have a clearer picture and understand these people better. I mean, I have a couple of gay friends and I’ve been to gay pride twice, but other than that I don’t have any knowledge or insight on this topic. And I would really like to. Even if the only thing I get out of these books are a couple of good lines I can throw at homophobic people! Hehe! That would be cool!

Have you read any LGBT books? Any recommendations?

d

20 thoughts on “LGBT Books

  1. I really enjoyed Will Grayson, Will Grayson, however it was kind of confusing at first, as I didn’t know it were two different people -_- (should’ve read the blurb) i hope you enjoy all of them 🙂

  2. Aristotle & Dante Discover the Universe is one of my all-time favorite books! I highly recommend it. The prose is just beautiful(the author is also a poet, which I feel like explains that). Two Boys Kissing was also really good & intriguing–it has a distinct narrative style and I found it fascinating from a writing standpoint.

  3. I’ll recommend Sara Waters as well. She writes Lesbian Historical Fiction and she’s a great writer. My book club read ‘Affinity’ and we loved it.

  4. I’ve got Will Grayson, Will Grayson (though haven’t read it yet) and Every Day by David Levithan is supposed to be, I think. I recently read A Kiss in the Dark by Cat Clarke (which was pretty amazing). Far From You by Tess Sharpe, and you definitely need Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour on the list. 🙂 But, seriously. It get’s me frustrated too, it’s jus unbelievable. Luckily here now though, Equal Marriages are now legal. Finally. Last year I was following the debate and ugh, got so pissed off. There’s so many reasons for it, and the only reason against was “it’ll ruin the sanctity of marriage” and “a woman and man get married to have a family” and it’s just , really? Uh, for one, gay people can use surrogates, or use fertility treatments or adopt, just like straight people do who can’t have kids. I have a few gay friends, one who got engaged to her girlfriend last year, so why should their rights be different to ours? It’s different here now, but I know there’s still a long way to go for other countries. I was supposed to cover Wales gay pride last year for a local magazine, but was ill. 😦 So hoping I can go this year. But good luck with the books (I’m hoping to read most of them too.) 🙂

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

    • Thanks for the recommendation! It’s really very annoying how some people react to gay people. Here in Germany i’s quite a positive reaction for the most part. Even though marriage isn’t allowed I’ve never met anyone so far who was opposed to it. Of course there must be some people otherwise it would be legalized by now. But I mean that people generally react positively to the idea of two people of the same sex being together. In Greece it’s a lot worse. Many people are open to it, but so many are really opposed to it. Especially men, for some reason. They tend to be more homophobic. At least in my experience.

  5. Hey Nadia. Noticed your blog on my Twitter newspaper on LGBT literature today and figured I’d post a short comment. I’m an author of gay literary novels with three under my belt so far, writing my fourth as we speak. If you’re interested, check them out on Nook or Amazon.

    Best, Hans

  6. Pingback: LGBT in the UK… | Brin's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

