Kick-Ass Female Protagonists

The A to Z Challenge is an annual blogging challenge. It isn’t restricted to book blogs – all kinds of blogs can participate. It takes place every year in April and during that month you have to write a post on the designated days (all except Sundays). These posts must have some correlation to the letter of the day. So, there will be a total of 26 posts starting from the letter A and ending with Z. Here is a list of all my posts.

 

Hello guys!

Today is going to be quite a short post, because there’s not really much to say, except that I LOVE kick-ass female protagonists!!!

Although I can’t say I don’t like a lot of the “girly” girl characters, I have so much more respect for the ones that are more powerful and confident and can take care of themselves. They’re just awesome! I really appreciate it when authors write about characters like that, because I love the kind of female character they are portraying. It shows that a girl can be autonomous and take care of herself alone. That she doesn’t necessarily need a man to protect her. That the two genders can actually be equal and protect each other. It doesn’t always have to be a guy in the “hero” position and a girl in the “damsel in distress” position.

I’m very happy that this type of women is becoming more and more often in young adult literature especially if we consider their target audience. We might be fangirling about the hero guy in some book, but since most of the people reading this sort of books are young women, I find it very important to have some hero girls as well. I think it’s extremely important that young girls have those kind of characters to admire and identify themselves with, instead of the girls who are always waiting for a guy to tell them what to do and make their life complete. Which is also a trend in YA books unfortunately.

So here are my top 5 kick-ass ladies from young adult books:

Rose from the Vampire Academy. That girl can kick some serious Strigoi butt!

Tris from Divergent. I really like the evolution of that girl’s character throughout the books. She starts off from being a scared little girl and turns out as a powerful young woman.

Celeana from Throne of Glass. She is one awesome assassin! And she can deal with any man that stands on her way.

Hazel from The Fault in Our Stars. Not the typical kind of kick-ass. This girl cannot really kick anyone’s ass, but she can deal with cancer and take care of herself, her family and her friends, so she’s definitely on my top 5.

That Reboot chick Wren from Reboot. She is one scary chick. I wouldn’t want to piss her off.

What are some of your favorite kick-ass heroines?

d

10 thoughts on “Kick-Ass Female Protagonists

  1. Tris is one of my favorites, too. Someone did a post and listed three book heroines (I think it was Katniss, Tris, and Bella) and asked which one you would pick and why. I can’t say anything about Katniss because I haven’t read or seen The Hunger Games (I know… need to get on that at some point), but I chose Tris because of her growth throughout the series. As you say, she starts out this unsure and maybe even scared girl and then grows into a powerful young woman who knows what she stands for and what she believes in and goes for it.

    • Yes I really love Tris! She goes through so many changes throughout the books. And Bella? Who would choose Bella? I haven’t heard a single person saying they like her. I’m just reading the first hunger games book now! So don’t feel too embarrassed. It’s very good so far!

Leave a Reply

