Indie Bookstores

The A to Z Challenge is an annual blogging challenge. It isn’t restricted to book blogs – all kinds of blogs can participate. It takes place every year in April and during that month you have to write a post on the designated days (all except Sundays). These posts must have some correlation to the letter of the day. So, there will be a total of 26 posts starting from the letter A and ending with Z. Here is a list of all my posts.

 

Hi guys!

So I’m assuming that every book lover knows about these huge worldwide electronic bookstores, like amazon, barnes and noble, the book depository etc. There are also many big bookstores in other countries, like Thalia in Germany or Public in Greece. Those are just the ones I know, because these are the countries I’ve lived in, but I’m sure you know what I mean… Those huge stores that probably sell more stuff other than books and have more than a few stores across the country.

So anyway, I have to say that I love those bookstores. As much as I hate giving my money to huge companies, I have to admit that I almost always use one of these stores to buy books.

But what about the small(er), independent, cute, little bookstores? Well, unfortunately I don’t really buy from them all that often. I know how important it is and I hate seeing these little bookstores shut down one after the other, but it’s just impossible for me to buy books from there! Wanna know why? Here are a couple of reasons:

  • First of all, I live in Germany, which is a country where English is not the native language. But I like reading books in english! And those damn little bookstores don’t have any books in English! It is so frustrating.
  • Second of all, if I were to buy a book in German, I would never find what I would be looking for. These independent bookstores, at least here, mostly have older books, classics etc. and almost never have anything from the young adult genre, let alone something besides twilight or the hunger games.
  • Third of all, if I requested a specific book at an independent bookstore, they would probably get it for me. But, I mean, I would have to wait for about a week and then I would have to go there again to pick it up. It’s so much more comfortable to just order it from the internet.
  • Fourth of all, the salespeople get on my nerves. It’s nice to have someone who probably knows a lot about books, but I hate it when they are hovering around me. If I say no when you ask to help me, please don’t insist and please don’t follow me around and please don’t continuously stare at me. Thank you.
  • Fifth of all, a lot of books aren’t in best condition. Most of them have been sitting around for so long that the pages are a bit yellow and I’ve even come across books with a folded cover or a ripped up dust jacket. This is really annoying to me, as I like my books to be in perfect condition.

So, there you have it. This is why I rarely ever go to independent bookstores. I would love to support them and feel a bit guilty that I don’t, but it’s just too inconvenient. I’m always sad when I see one of them shut down, though. Especially if it’s as pretty as any of these.

 

Where do you usually buy your books from?

d

6 thoughts on “Indie Bookstores

  1. When I was growing up, I loved the indies because there wasn’t anything else. But I’m much happier with e-books now. Who has space to devote to hundreds of books?
    (I followed you on WP)
    Lexa Cain’s Blog

  2. I’m not as concerned about the condition of books and I tend to buy used books, either from used book stores or library sales. I share some of your sentiments about independent stores, though. Sometimes they’re too small and personal.

    • My biggest problem at the moment is that they don’t have any books in english. But this problem doesn’t exist if you live in the states or uk, of course. And maybe the bookstores are quite different in general.

  3. I recognize the problem with the language. In the Netherlands we don’t have a lot of Dutch books, so I order them online. Pretty much all the time. I only go there when I have like a gift card. In my town we don’t have independent book stores, so that won’t work. And online, they are cheaper. My boyfriend (who is German) said that in Germany the stores and the online had the same price, which is weird to me. Online here it’s probably 3 to 4 euros cheaper. Also the English books are waaaay cheaper than the Dutch ones.

    • I also find it weird that bookstores in Germany have so low prices! Also a translated book doesn’t really cost more than the original version of it (usually english). Sometimes 1-2 euros more, sometimes even exactly the same! It’s weird. In Greece it’s exactly like in Holland.

Leave a Reply

