HARRY POTTER by J. K. Rowling | Series Review

This review contains NO spoilers for any of the books in the series. Read away! 😉

As much as I’d like to just write a fangirl-y review of this book, I also want to keep a more serious approach in this review, since this series has influenced me and thousand others all around the world. So if you want to read a fangirl-y review of the Harry Potter series, just skip this post.

For me, Harry Potter has been the single most influential book series I’ve read. I first started reading those books when I was 11 years old and got the first book as a birthday present. So I guess I can say that I grew up with Harry Potter. I remember waiting impatiently for the new books to be published, buying them on the first day and reading them cover to cover in a couple of days. I would not be the same person if it weren’t for Harry Potter.

It is quite known that J.K. Rowling started writing this story under difficult economical circumstances and ended up becoming one of Britain’s most wealthy people. Although the basic story is not as original as some people think (there had been a few supernatural boarding school books written) it is safe to say that she took this idea into a whole other level.

In the first three books of the series I have to admit that the writing style is not amazing. This is something that I didn’t notice at all the first time I read the books (probably because I was too young), but I can see it clearly now. There are some unnecessary details and the whole book is written in a very child-like way. That being said, I think we have to keep in mind that at least those first books were clearly directed to children. It’s also quite interesting to see how Rowling’s writing style and ideas mature with the characters. As Harry and his friends grow up, so does the writing style and the adventures they go through. The books start out as children books, but end up being young adult books, that, in my opinion, even adults could read. It does remain child-friendly till the end, though, so there is no problem for younger readers to read this series.

The basic material of his book, if we could talk about it in this way, would have to be friendship. The whole series revolves around the power and importance of friendship, how it changes you, how it shapes your whole personality. The book would have been completely different if it wasn’t for Harry’s two best friends, Ron and Hermione. I am very happy that J.K. Rowling chose such diverse characters to write about. I would describe Harry as the brave one, Hermione as the smart one and Ron as the funny one. Together they make this series what it is today and I cannot imagine the book existing without one of them. Since this is one of the most popular children books we’re talking about, I think it’s very important that it includes some messages about diversity (even if it’s just in character and not ethnicity, or religion, or skin color) and how different people cannot only be good friends, but also work together in a way that brings the best out of each of them.

Along the lines of friendship and diversity, this book also includes the everlasting fight between good and evil. This battle is very clear in all of the books and every character is clearly one or the other. I find this to be a bit too much, as it’s not like that at all in real life. I guess for a children’s book it is more usual (and perhaps necessary) to clearly differentiate between those two, but I would like to see a few more characters balancing these two aspects. There is, of course, the character of Severous Snape filling that gap. We don’t really know whose side he is on throughout the whole series, but in the end it becomes crystal clear, falling again into the pattern of having to be either good or evil.

One of the most amazing and extraordinary parts of the book is the world creation. I have never read about such a complex world in so many details that you feel you know everything about it. The wizarding world has its own history, lore, customs, hell – there’s even a damn ministry! Trust me, there’s a reason why so many people would choose the world of Harry Potter if they could travel to any imaginary world.

As for the people that compare it with twilight, Stephen King said it best:
“Harry Potter is about confronting fears, finding inner strength and doing what is right in the face of adversity. Twilight is about how important it is to have a boyfriend.”
And I say that being a twilight fan. But it’s 100% true.

I could continue talking and analyzing the Harry Potter books for a lot longer, but I believe this post is long enough. So, to sum it all up, Harry Potter remains my favorite book series of all time, even though it’s been more than 10 years since I first read it and even though I’ve read about a gazillion other books that I loved since then. It will always have a place in my heart and I don’t think I’ll ever stop wanting to read the Harry Potter books. I highly recommend it for every person on the planet no matter how old they may be.

Some of my favorite quotes:

“It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.”

“It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends.” 

“Fear of a name increases fear of the thing itself.”

“The truth.” Dumbledore sighed. “It is a beautiful and terrible thing, and should therefore be treated with great caution.”

“It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.”

“Do not pity the dead, Harry. Pity the living, and, above all those who live without love.” 

Funny how all of them are from Dumbledore. I just love him so much!!!!! ❤ ❤ ❤
There. I had my fangirl moment.

f4c0488b-ab03-452b-94f1-cd12ff49ff75

 

 The A to Z Challenge is an annual blogging challenge. It isn’t restricted to book blogs – all kinds of blogs can participate. It takes place every year in April and during that month you have to write a post on the designated days (all except Sundays). These posts must have some correlation to the letter of the day. So, there will be a total of 26 posts starting from the letter A and ending with Z. Here is a list of all my posts.

11 thoughts on “HARRY POTTER by J. K. Rowling | Series Review

  1. Another two of my favorite quotes:
    “Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?”
    “I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.” (I received a bracelet with this on it for Christmas and I wear it every day.)
    I sympathize with your feelings on Harry Potter 100%. I’m in my mid-20s and I’m re-reading the series slowly but surely. It means something very different to me this time around and I love that. I feel that a lot of her message is about racism and how it can damage a person to believe they are better than someone else because of who their parents are. I’ll always suggest this when people say it’s only about magic and demons. That’s so far from the truth.

    • I’ve been in a lot of situations where people who have never even read a single page of that book say it’s a stupid book made for children with no other meaning at all. It really gets on my nerves and there’s probably no way to change these people’s opinions about Harry Potter, so I try not to bother. But I usually can’t! lol!

      I also re-read the first 4 books last month and it is such a different experience every time! I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of reading it!

      And that bracelet sounds amazing! I’d love to have one! I’ll go search if I can find sth on the internet!

      • I’ve run into a lot of people who won’t read it or let their children read it for religious reasons and that makes me sad. I think the message is so good for Christians because as you said, it’s about friendship, love, and family.

        The bracelet was custom made and I’m sure you can find an engraving service to make one for you! There are a lot of good HP quotes to choose from.

Leave a Reply

