Cover Changes [The Movie Edition]

The A to Z Challenge is an annual blogging challenge. It isn’t restricted to book blogs – all kinds of blogs can participate. It takes place every year in April and during that month you have to write a post on the designated days (all except Sundays). These posts must have some correlation to the letter of the day. So, there will be a total of 26 posts starting from the letter A and ending with Z. Here is a list of all my posts.

 

Hey guys!

So we all know that when a book is turned into a movie there’s usually also a new book edition with the cover of the movie. Pretty much every book lover hates those covers. BUT. Is it possible that those covers can actually be even better than the original ones? Let’s examine some books, shall we?

 

The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien

Clearly the original cover is much more beautiful and unique for me. The movie cover isn’t bad, but not even close to the original one!

  

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

I’m not entirely sure if the second one is also a movie cover, but it’s the one I love the most! I think it’s perfect. I wish the whole series had these covers! But I’d even rather have the third one, because I think it’s better in comparison to the first one. I just don’t like the Mortal Instruments covers. I know they have a lot of fans, but I just can’t!

 

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

I don’t know which one I hate more in this case. The first one is not pretty and doesn’t match with the story of the book, I think. But the movie cover is just plain boring. There’s just a V A. How could that make for a nice cover? I’d probably pick the first one, just for the sake of having the original cover.

  

Perfume – the Story of a Murderer by Patrick Süskind

The movie cover is the second one and I find it much more interesting than the original one. The original cover has a nice idea with the colored smoke, but the colors aren’t bright enough and they don’t pop out. The font is also a bad choice in my opinion.

As for the third cover it’s the one that has been used in many different languages (not in english, though). It’s also the one I happen to own and I love it. I think it reflects the story of the book the best, I love the colors and I WANT THAT HAIR!!!

 

Divergent by Veronica Roth

I’m not a huge fan of either of those covers. The first one is quite original and I’ve seen quite a few books that have copied the design. What I like about the movie cover is that they kept many aspects of the original cover the same. The font of the title and author and the city that’s on the background in the bottom of the page. I don’t know… I think I might like the movie cover a little bit better.

How about you? What do you think of these covers? Are there some movie covers that you like more, or do you strictly stick with the original book covers?

10 thoughts on “Cover Changes [The Movie Edition]

  1. I like the second cover of Perfume the most to be honest. I should really read that book for German class, my friend read it and she thought it was pretty cool. I don’t like the movie cover of City of Bones. Neither do I like the movie cover of Divergent :/

    • Lol! Quite different opinions! The perfume is really great! It’s very weird and I’ve never read a similar story, but I really enjoyed it! I know these mortal instruments covers have a lot of fans, but I really don’t like them for some reason..!

  2. I love the movie cover of City of Bones (not the one with the big faces). Without the word movie splashed all over it it would be a perfectly acceptable YA cover. I’m not a fan of the original myself, because it’s… just a big chest. That’s all I can see!

    ★ Under The Mountain ★

  3. Considering the time between The Hobbit’s first publication and the film, it’s hard to say which is better. I think as a retro cover, the original is amazing. From a graphics and color point of view with modern printing capabilities, the movie cover is perfect.

  4. I generally do not like any movie covers (surprise, surprise!) However, I quite like the new editions of VA as the original covers are super cheesy in my opinion and they are one of the reasons why I just picked up the series for the first time.
    However, one movie cover that I quite enjoy id the movie cover for The Silver Lining’s Playbook by Matthew Quick. This is an instance where I like both the original cover and the movie cover. Here is the original cover: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7788995-the-silver-linings-playbook and here is the movie cover: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13539044-the-silver-linings-playbook, if you are interested. 🙂

    Great post!

    • Oh I had no idea this was a book! I just saw the movie cover the other day and thought that it reminded me a lot of some YA book covers I’ve seen lately! Lol! I really like this one! Although the original cover isn’t bad either…
      And yeah… The VA covers are very cheesy! But the books are great! You should read them!

Leave a Reply

