Top 10 All-Time-Favorite Young Adult Fantasy Series

top10

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme created at the broke and the bookish. Each week they have a topic for which you have to make a top 10 list.

This week’s topic is to make a list of your top 10 all time favorite books in a specific genre. I’m picking the Young Adult Fantasy genre, which is a quite wide one, since I want to read books that I really consider my favorites and it would be hard to find 10 of them if I picked a very small genre…

10On number 10 I have the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan. It’s barely in the young adult genre (maybe more in middleschool), so I would highly recommend it for younger readers. I read it last year for the first time and kept wishing I had read it a few years earlier, when I think I would like it even more. My favorite one of the series is book #3 “The Titan’s Curse” (my review can be found  here).

9 The Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth. Actually a dystopian series, but dystopian is still fantasy, right? If you asked me a few months ago I would put this book on a much higher spot on the list. But after reading the third book of the trilogy (Allegiant) I was so disappointed that I don’t really recommend this book a lot anymore. I did love the first two books, though, and Insurgent was my favorite of the three.

 

8Next is a series that I started recently: “Newsoul” by Jodi Meadows. I’ve only read the first book, Incarnate (my review can be found here) and I freaking loved it! I can’t wait to read the sequels to this one and I hope they’re as good as the first one!





 7The next one is actually a duology, which I don’t if it counts as a series, but I’m picking it anyway! It’s Pivot Point by Kasie West. Again I’ve only read the first of the two books (review can be found here) and it was amazing! I loved the originality of the story and how Kasie West made this seemingly complicated world very easy to read and understand.

 

6Next on my list is the Mara Dyer series by Michelle Hodkin. This is a really creepy story where you really have no idea what’s going on throughout the whole book. Besides that it also has amazing characters and a story that will keep you on edge!




5Bloodlines by Richelle Mead. This is a series I recently got into because I heard from pretty much everyone that it was amazing! It’s a spin-off series from the Vampire Academy, so don’t read it if you haven’t read that first! But if you have, it’s a great spin to that story, especially if you’re a fan of Adrian Ivashkov! My favorite one so far is book #3 “The Indigo Spell”.

 

4Since we’re at Richelle Mead, my next favorite one is the Vampire Academy series. Areally awesome vampire story that uses yet another different vampire lore, this time coming from Russia. I loved all of the books in this series and they keep getting better and better. If you haven’t read it yet now, that the first movie has just come out, is the time to do so!

 

3My next pick is a very recent favorite: Penryn and the End of Days by Susan Ee. I think this might be the most action packed book I’ve ever read. There was always something happening. The romance was great. The story had a lot of twists and turns. There’s a kick ass female protagonist. I couldn’t put it down! I loved both the first and the second book equally.

 

2On number 2 I have a very controversial book: Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. I know so many people hate this book. I also know that it’s not really a good book. That it has many flaws. That it has some dangerous role models. But it’s so freaking enjoyable! I love this book! It was the first young adult book I ever read and the one that made me fall in love with that genre. It’s just awesome!

 

1And on the very first spot, what else other than Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling? I’m a huge fan of this book (you should know, I mention it on almost every top 10 Tuesday…). It’s my ultimate favorite book of all times. And that’s that. I can’t decide on which one is actually my favorite of the series… Maybe Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.

Let me know if you’ve read any of these and what you thought of them!

d

21 thoughts on “Top 10 All-Time-Favorite Young Adult Fantasy Series

  1. Great post Nadia! I enjoyed reading the Harry Potter and Twilight series. 🙂 I just finished Pivot Point the other day and I liked it a lot, now I need to read Split Second! I am in the middle of reading the Vampire Academy, Penryn & the End of Days, Mara Dyer and Percy Jackson & the Olympians series too! I have Divergent on my shelf, but I don’t want to read it until I get Insurgent and Allegiant. 🙂

  2. Percy Jackson and the Olympians has to be my personal favorite, so I’m glad it made it on your list! The first two Divergent books were okay for me. Incarnate was cute, but I haven’t picked up the sequels yet! D: I also loved both Pivot Point and Split Second–lovely books. Bloodlines isn’t a favorite series for me, but Vampire Academy definitely is! I didn’t really enjoy Angelfall, either. 😦 Twilight was okay, and I’ve only read the first three Harry Potter books and really enjoyed them! Lovely post, Nadia!

    Aimee @ Deadly Darlings

  3. I love your choices, Angelfall in particular =) I haven’t read some of them yet, I’ve been intending to read Vampire Academy, Bloodlines and Pivot Point for a while now. I think I need more hours in the day to read! I can’t keep up with all the amazing series, Happy reading!

  4. I’ve read them all except Incarnate, Pivot Point, and The Indigo Spell. I’ve read books by Kasie West and Richelle Mead though, just not those xD I agree with all of your choices! I enjoy Cynthia Hand (author of Unearthly series) too! 🙂
    -Marianne

  5. Pingback: Top Ten All Time Favourite Books in The Fantasy Genre | Brin's Book Blog

  6. Great picks. Divergent made my list too but I also said that Allegiant kind of ruined it for me. I love Harry Potter and that would be the top of my list too 🙂 Most of the others are sitting on my TBR list and I am excited to find time to get to them all. Nice picks and thanks for checking out my list 🙂

    • Yes, it was a pity with allegiant! I didn’t have a problem with the ending actually, but I felt like the whole style of the book had changed and I didn’t like Tobias’ point of view…

  7. Awesome Top 10 Nadia!
    I have not read yet the Percy Jackson and the Olympians & Divergent (I Know! must!)
    but I really love your List! Εspecially The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, Pivot Point and the Angelfall It is really wonderful books! 🙂

    • Divergent is really good, but I was disappointed from the last book! It went from being one of my really all time favorite series to being just a good series that I like, but don’t think I’ll reread… Percy is amazing especially if you like middleschool books!

Leave a Reply

