Cover Changes [Multiple Covers Edition]

gs

Hello guys!
As most book lovers I am also obsessed with covers and can get really upset when the covers of a series change and they no longer match. So I have decided to do a series of posts dedicated to different aspects of cover changes!

So the other day I was thinking of buying Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder. So, as always I started by checking the goodreads page in order to see what kind of editions there are available. And I found out that there are 6 different covers available. SIX! Take a look:

  
  

WHAT IS THE LOGIC IN HAVING SO MANY DIFFERENT COVERS?

I don’t get it! I understand having a couple, or maybe even three available covers, but more than that is just baffling to me.

Anyway! So, I started thinking which one do I like the most? And I decided the first or the second one. BUT! The million dollar question here is: Will the same cover design also be available in the sequels? And so I continued with my research…

Turns out there are 3 published books in this series and 3 more that are not published yet. The second book (Magic Study) has all of the cover designs that Poison Study has except for the last one. Unfortunately, the same thing does not go for the third book of the series, which only has covers number 1, 3 and 5 available. Which means that if I went with cover #2 I would have to get a different edition for the third book!

WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS TO ME?

I can’t keep doing all this research for every book in a series I have to buy! I have an obsession! I want my covers to match! Please don’t ruin this for me!

You want to know what I did next? After I researched all the covers of the three published books, I realized that I have no way of knowing what kind of covers there will be available for the 3 other books that haven’t been published yet! THE HORROR!

So what now? The one thing that I could think of was checking the publication dates. As I found out, cover #3 was the last one published for the 3rd book. Which means the newest addition to all the covers. Which might mean that the publishing company will probably decide to continue with it. Which means that it’s the safest bet.

But I don’t like that cover!!! So I either have to go with cover #1 and risk having to get a different cover edition for the books to come, or I have to start by getting a cover that I don’t like!

This is totally killing me!!!

Why? Why do you have to make different covers for sequels?

IF YOU WANT TO HAVE SEVERAL COVERS FOR YOUR BOOKS, AT LEAST HAVE THEM FOR ALL THE BOOKS IN THE SERIES!

That’s it. I’m done. I’m going to sleep now. Please wake me up when all books with matching covers are available.

How do you guys feel about this? Am I the only one obsessing about matching covers?

12 thoughts on “Cover Changes [Multiple Covers Edition]

  1. Wow, I’ve never been happier to be one of those people who just don’t care about covers. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I would prefer the prettiest cover I can find – but I don’t get bothered when my covers don’t match or anything like that. Life would be so much harder otherwise – as demonstrated by all the trouble you’re having!

    I wish you luck in your decision. I’m not sure what the best solution is. Wait until they’re all published? Just buy every single edition there is? Eek!

    • Lol!!! Ok! I’m overreacting a bit! It wouldn’t be the end of the world if the covers don’t match.. Just the end of my life! 😛
      It’s nice that you don’t have the matching covers obsession, though! I get quite annoyed with situations like that!

  2. I understand how it can really bother people, luckily I’m not really bothered by it (unless they take a beautiful cover and replace it with a hideous one… that is disappointing).
    But it’s silly to have 6 different covers for one book! Maybe they are different covers for publications in different countries?

  3. I have cover 3 for them all. I really like it. The two that are still to come out are a different series, there is another series which has 4 already out, that’s set in the same setting but a different main character. I am the same I like have the same covers, but it would not bother me too much if I did not. I did but Delirium from amazon and got annoyed when it was not the cover I expected, it was orange and horrible.

  4. Ugh, I absolutely hate when you get a redesign on a sequel and others especially when I have a first edition of the first. It’s just stupid. Also, I don’t get it, when the covers perfectly fine on it’s own, why change it? Sometimes it works, and other times it’s worse than the original, but besides that, the covers are what makes you recognise a series. I saw one the other day I picked one up, that I didn’t even notice it was apart of a series. Covers are more important than people think.

    • covers are definitely important! I will very rarely buy a book with a cover I hate! It has to sound really really good! And when they have a good cover and make it work it’s the most frustrating!

  5. I am happy to find I am not the only person who gets really upset by cover changes. I especially hate when I have to buy a cover I really don’t like just so it will match the others. Why do they do it to us? WHY?!?

    • Lol! Finally someone who agrees with me! It’s the worst thing having to choose between a cover you don’t like, but matches and one you like more, but doesn’t match! I hate it!

Leave a Reply

