HEX HALL by Rachel Hawkins | Audiobook Review

Title: Hex Hall

Author: Rachel Hawkins

Book #: 1 in the “Hex Hall” series

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Publication: June 2012, by Tantor Media

Length: 7 Hours and 7 minutes

Author’s Website and Twitter

Rating: combinhe_images

Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It’s gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie’s estranged father–an elusive European warlock–only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it’s her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.

By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard: three powerful enemies who look like supermodels, a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock, a creepy tagalong ghost, and a new roommate who happens to be the most hated person and only vampire student on campus. Worse, Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her only friend is the number-one suspect.

As a series of blood-curdling mysteries starts to converge, Sophie prepares for the biggest threat of all: an ancient secret society determined to destroy all Prodigium, especially her.

Synopsis from Goodreads.com

“Let’s just say you may regret that second piece of cake.’
Oh my God. Regret cake? Whatever was about to happen must be truly evil.”

Review

This book was so much fun! That is just my general impression of it. It was really enjoyable and I was at no point bored or felt that it was uninteresting. I had a great time reading it listening to it.

The protagonist of this book is Sophie, a young girl who discovered she was a witch a few years ago and is now forced to go to a supernatural boarding school because of something she did. A supernatural boarding school! I mean, really! What could be more awesome than that? Sophie’s character was actually one of my favorite parts of the book. She was sassy, smart, sarcastic and caring. I just loved all her funny and sarcastic inner thoughts and reading (or listening) from her point of view was a pleasure!

The love interest is a guy named Archer. In the beginning I really liked him, because A) he was hot and B) he was also being sarcastic , which led to many witty dialogs between him and Sophie. At some point, though, I felt that this aspect of his character kind of faded and he was only left with his handsomeness, which, I’m sorry, but that’s not enough for me!

The storyline was quite good. As I said I wasn’t bored at any time, but it was also not really amazing. Things were going a little bit too slow; I feel like there could be a few more things going on. Also it was a bit predictable towards the end and I got kind of frustrated with Sophie for not figuring out what was going on earlier. On the other hand the ending did have a couple of plot twists, so I can forgive the minor predictability. As you would probably expect from a boarding school book, there was some teen angst going on, but it was at a level that I could handle and so it didn’t really bother me.

As for my thoughts about the audiobook version of the book, I have nothing negative to say about it. I really liked the voice of the narrator. I also didn’t drift off almost at all, which was really good, because this tends to happen to me with audiobooks. All in all, I don’t think I missed anything by listening to the audiobook version instead of actually reading the book.

Generally, I really, really liked this book. The best thing about it was that it was really funny! I’m glad I gave it a try, as this is the first witch-y book I’ve read and now I really want more!

First Line

Felicia Miller was crying in the bathroom.

Mini Review

A very enjoyable, funny book.
The protagonist was sarcastic and witty.
The storyline was in general pretty good.
A quick and easy read.

Recommend it for…

  • Fans of Witches
  • A fun read

combinhe_images

2 thoughts on “HEX HALL by Rachel Hawkins | Audiobook Review

Leave a Reply

