2013 in Review

dark-gray-21x21_2000x2000_1000x1000

So this is Christmas
and what have you done
another year over
and a new one just begun

This damn song has been stuck in my head for days now, so I thought that maybe if I write a post about what “I have done” in 2013 it will help me move on from this song.

So here is what happened to my book life this past year:

Χωρίς τίτλοI read a total of 43 books!

Not so much compared to other book bloggers (how do you manage to read like 150 books in one year? I’m impressed by you people! If you are really humans…). Anyway. I’m still happy with what I achieved, considering it’s still a lot more than what an average person reads in a year.

I would make a list of all the books I read, but I’m just too lazy. You can find all of them on my “Books I Read in 2013” page!

My Average Rating was 3.85. I think I was a bit more generous in the beginning of the year than now. I saw how I rated some of the books I read before summer and I think I would rate them a bit lower if I read them now, but ok. Better so, than the other way around, right?

And now for some mini top lists! I would pick one for each category, but it’s just impossible.

Top 5 Books of the Year

  

 

Top 5 Characters of the Year

Adrian from the “Bloodlines” series by Richelle Mead

Mara from “The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer” by Michelle Hodkin

Pudge from “Looking for Alaska” by John Green

Jace from the “Mortal Instruments” series by Cassandra Clare

Annabeth from the “Percy Jackson and the Olympians” series by Rick Riordan

 

Top 5 Quotes of the Year

“When adults say, “Teenagers think they are invincible” with that sly, stupid smile on their faces, they don’t know how right they are. We need never be hopeless, because we can never be irreparably broken. We think that we are invincible because we are. We cannot be born, and we cannot die. Like all energy, we can only change shapes and sizes and manifestations. They forget that when they get old. They get scared of losing and failing. But that part of us greater than the sum of our parts cannot begin and cannot end, and so it cannot fail.”
John Green, Looking for Alaska

Is it possible for home to be a person and not a place?
Stephenie Perkins, Anna and the French Kiss

“Takes a lot of tries before you hit perfection.” He paused to reconsider that. “Well, except for my parents. They got it on the first try.”
Richelle Mead, Bloodlines

“I don’t want to be a man,” said Jace. “I want to be an angst-ridden teenager who can’t confront his own inner demons and takes it out verbally on other people instead.”
“Well,” said Luke, “you’re doing a fantastic job.”
Cassandra Clare, City of Ashes

“Can you see me? All of me? Probably not. No one ever really has.”
Jeffrey Eugenides, Middlesex

Top 5 Covers of the Year

  

 

One thought on “2013 in Review

Leave a Reply

