HEIST SOCIETY by Ally Carter | Review

Title: Heist Society

Author: Ally Carter

Book #: 1 in the “Heist Society” series

Genres: Young Adult, Mystery, Contemporary

Publication: February 2010, by Hyperion Book CH

Pages: 287

Author’s Website and Twitter

Rating: jcombine_images

When Katarina Bishop was three, her parents took her on a trip to the Louvre…to case it. For her seventh birthday, Katarina and her Uncle Eddie traveled to Austria…to steal the crown jewels. When Kat turned fifteen, she planned a con of her own—scamming her way into the best boarding school in the country, determined to leave the family business behind. Unfortunately, leaving “the life” for a normal life proves harder than she’d expected.

Soon, Kat’s friend and former co-conspirator, Hale, appears out of nowhere to bring Kat back into the world she tried so hard to escape. But he has a good reason: a powerful mobster has been robbed of his priceless art collection and wants to retrieve it. Only a master thief could have pulled this job, and Kat’s father isn’t just on the suspect list, he is the list. Caught between Interpol and a far more deadly enemy, Kat’s dad needs her help.

For Kat, there is only one solution: track down the paintings and steal them back. So what if it’s a spectacularly impossible job? She’s got two weeks, a teenage crew, and hopefully just enough talent to pull off the biggest heist in her family’s history–and, with any luck, steal her life back along the way.

Synopsis from Goodreads.com

“I’m the guy who happened to be home the night Kat came to steal a Monet.”

Review

To begin with, I would like to say that I wasn’t too excited to read this book. The reason I picked it up is that I was searching in the library and nothing else seemed to click at that moment, so I thought I might as well take this one. I’ve heard quite a few good things about it after all, so it should be worth something.

After having read the book I am really not sure what I think about it (!) There were moments when I really liked reading it and was very absorbed in it and other moments when I was contemplating giving up on it. The first moments were certainly more, though, so I would say that in general I did like this book!

The story started off interesting, but I had a couple of problems with it along the way. Not that it became boring, but it kind of lost me at some points. We had to do with thieves and they were constantly talking about great thefts and using a specific “thief-slang” or code words, that had me feeling a little bit lost. I also felt sometimes, that I couldn’t keep up with the story. They would all figure something out, but it often took me more time to understand it. I mean, I don’t like always being faster than the main characters, but being left behind is also not very nice. I kept reading though, because the story was quite interesting and original, even though I was apparently missing some points.

I found the characters of the book very well created and described. I had a clear picture in my heads of who was who, and knew all of their characters and how they would possibly react in certain situations. I also loved the interaction between them all! Because they were all different from each other, they made up the perfect team. We have realistic, witty, sarcastic, funny and bitchy characters, and to have them all interacting together was really lots of fun!

As far as main characters (Kat and the love interest, Hale) I also think they were quite interesting, but nothing extremely special. Kat’s point of view was comfortable to read from, but I did liked Hale’s character more. He kind of had more spunk, while Kat was more quiet and forgettable. Something that I found weird about all characters was that the were around 15 years old, but I kept forgetting that. The way they were all described seemed to fit more for 20-somethings than for 15-year-olds. I don’t really think Kat’s thoughts or the actions of all of them were that of teenagers, so I basically think their age should have simply been switched to a few years older.

So, in general, I cannot say I was blown away by this book in any aspect. It was mostly fun and comfortable to read, but not something I will remember about in a couple of years.

First Line

No one knew for certain when the trouble started at the Colgan School.

Mini Review

Somewhat confusing at times – I felt sort of lost.
Characters were quite good, but still nothing that will blow you away!
All in all good, but forgettable.

Recommend it for…

  • Fans of mystery
  • People looking for something easy to read

jcombine_images

2 thoughts on “HEIST SOCIETY by Ally Carter | Review

  1. I’ve read the first 3 of her Gallagher Girls series, and really enjoyed them, so I’m a little nervous about this one now, I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews, but like you said, it doesn’t seem one that stands out. Personally, I like my characters more mature, but the age has to be realistic, so yeah, I agree with you one the age thing. Shame, I had high hopes for this one. Great review. 🙂

Leave a Reply

