THE GOLDEN LILY by Richelle Mead | Review

Title: The Golden Lily

Author: Richelle Mead

Book #: 2 in the “Bloodlines” series

Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy

Publication: June 2012, by Razorbill

Pages: 418

Author’s Website and Twitter

Rating: comjbine_images

The second thrilling installment in Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy spinoff series

Tough, brainy alchemist Sydney Sage and doe-eyed Moroi princess Jill Dragomir are in hiding at a human boarding school in the sunny, glamorous world of Palm Springs, California. The students–children of the wealthy and powerful–carry on with their lives in blissful ignorance, while Sydney, Jill, Eddie, and Adrian must do everything in their power to keep their secret safe. But with forbidden romances, unexpected spirit bonds, and the threat of Strigoi moving ever closer, hiding the truth is harder than anyone thought.

Populated with new faces as well as familiar ones, Richelle Mead’s breathtaking Bloodlines series explores all the friendship, romance, battles, and betrayals that made the #1 New York Times bestselling Vampire Academy series so addictive. In this second book, the drama is hotter, the romances are steamier, and the stakes are even higher.

Synopsis from Goodreads.com

“You need me? You yell. You want to leave? We go. I’ll get you out of here, no matter what.”

Review

I was really excited to pick up this book seeing as I loved the first one, which I read not so long ago! P.S. I rarely read the sequels back to back and usually don’t pick them up for quite some time after I’ve read the first book. I don’t why, it’s just what I do. But with this book I felt the need to immediately read more about the characters and get back to this world.

I generally like action packed books, don’t get me wrong, but I also really like books with a slower pacing that just narrate daily problems and don’t have end-of-the-world catastrophes happening all the time. The problem with these books is that they tend to get boring, and if the characters and the writing is not good enough for me, I get tired of them pretty easily. That’s the thing I love most about the bloodlines series. It has this kind of comfortable pace and it sort of feels like strolling around in the streets on an autumn morning, if that makes any sense at all. It just felt really nice being in this world and hanging out with these characters.

The characters are so perfectly described that I feel like I know each and every one of them. Like I would recognise them on the street and go catch up with them or something. No, seriously, Richelle Mead has done an excellent job creating those characters and making them seem like they’re real. Or well, as real Moroi, Dhampirs, Alchemists and so on can be.

As far as the story goes, well, as I said it doesn’t have a very quick rhythm, but for me it was the perfect pace. The only thing I have a slight problem with is the relationship between Sydney and Adrian. If you’ve read the first book (spoiler alert if you haven’t!), you know that practically nothing happens between them in the first book. Sydney doesn’t even realize that she likes him and there’s almost not a single “moment” between them. This sort of thing also continues in the second book with a little bit of progress of course, but not really much. Can’t say I expected anything more. It was clear from the first book that things were going to be slow, but I wish they were going a little bit faster. I’m so looking forward to seeing some “Sydrian” romance and kissing and whatnot!

So, to sum up, I’m starting to become a huge fan of this series and hope I can get my hands on that third book really soon!

First Line

Most people would find being led into an underground bunker on a stormy night scary.

Mini Review

Recommend it for…

  • People who have read and liked the Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

comjbine_images

2 thoughts on “THE GOLDEN LILY by Richelle Mead | Review

Leave a Reply

