BLOODLINES by Richelle Mead | Review

Title: Bloodlines

Author: Richelle Mead

Book #: 1 in the “Bloodlines” series

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal

Publication: August 2011, by Razorbill

Pages: 421

Author’s Website and Twitter

Rating: combinhe_images

Blood doesn’t lie…

Sydney is an alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of human and vampires. They protect vampire secrets – and human lives. When Sydney is torn from her bed in the middle of the night, at first she thinks she’s still being punished for her complicated alliance with dhampir Rose Hathaway. But what unfolds is far worse. Jill Dragomir – the sister of Moroi Queen Lissa Dragomir – is in mortal danger, and the Moroi must send her into hiding. To avoid a civil war, Sydney is called upon to act as Jill’s guardian and protector, posing as her roommate in the last place anyone would think to look for vampire royalty – a human boarding school in Palm Springs, California. But instead of finding safety at Amberwood Prep, Sydney discovers the drama is only just beginning…

Synopsis from Goodreads.com

“Takes a lot of tries before you hit perfection.” He paused to reconsider that. “Well, except for my parents. They got it on the first try.” (Adrian)”

Review

I really enjoyed this book and getting back into the vampire academy world! I love Richelle Mead’s writing style and the characters of this book.

I’ve heard many people saying that this series is even better than the original Vampire Academy series. After having read the first book I can only say that it has the potential, but I still want to read one or two more books from this series in order to decide. For me the book was good, but I did have one or two problems with it.

The best thing about this book? Adrian!!!

I’m seriously a huge fan of Adrian Ivashkov! I was really pissed that Rose decided to pick Dimitri over him, but now I might actually be glad because we can experience a new romance between him and Sydney.

The worst thing about this book? The plot. It really was nothing special. More than that, it was not what anyone would expect the spin-off series of the Vampire Academy to be. I for one expected action, romance, many things happening at once. But what I got was a supposedly big mystery that got solved in the end and a lot of highschool drama. I am willing to overlook this however, because I just love the characters and the writing style.

Speaking of characters I thought that there were really a lot of them that I liked! First and foremost, of course, Adrian! But I also really liked Sydney. I actually didn’t expect her to be such an interesting character, but that was a really nice surprise for me. It was also really nice to get to know some less important characters from the Vampire Academy, such as Jill and Eddie.

All in all, it was a great book! I have already started reading the second one in the series as I’m writing this, so I can definitely say it’s a series I will be continuing with!

First Line

I couldn’t breathe.

Recommend it for…

  • Fans of the Vampire Academy series
  • Fans of Adrian Ivashkov

combinhe_images

4 thoughts on “BLOODLINES by Richelle Mead | Review

  1. Yay, I’m so glad you’re reading this series. I think things really do start to pick up in Golden Lily, so hopefully you’ll enjoy that one plot wise a bit more. I do think the characters are definitely the strength of this series though, especially watching the relationships pan out and the character growth- I just could build a shrine to Sydney Sage, I love her so much.

  2. Pingback: The S.S. Sydrian | My Infernal Imagination

Leave a Reply

