CITY OF ASHES by Cassandra Clare | Review

Title: City of Ashes

Author: Cassandra Clare

Book #: 2 in “The Mortal Instruments” series

Publication: July 2008, by Walker Childrens Paperbacks

Pages: 411

Author’s Website and Twitter

Rating: cjombine_images

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

Synopsis from Goodreads.com

“I don’t want to be a man,” said Jace. “I want to be an angst-ridden teenager who can’t confront his own inner demons and takes it out verbally on other people instead.”
“Well,” said Luke, “you’re doing a fantastic job.” 

Review

To begin with, I was not a huge fan of the first book of the series and only pushed myself to read it because it was so overhyped and I wanted to know what everyone was talking about. Now, I also read the second book, because I had bought it in a box set. I have to admit, though, it was better than the first one.

I was actually finding the book pretty good in the beginning and was excited to read more of it, but somewhere in the middle I kind of lost interest. It did pick up in the last hundred pages or so, but it really took me a while to get there. The reason I didn’t like it so much at some parts was strictly because of the plot. It held no interest for me at some points.

I did, though, love a lot of characters of the book! Isabell, Magnus and Jace are definitely my favorite ones. I also love the witty and funny moments of the book, most of which include either Jace or Magnus or both of them!

All in all it was an ok book for me. I will probably read the third one too, since I already own it, even though I was really pissed of with the ending of this book! The third one is supposed to be the best one in the series, so I hope I end up liking it more!

First Line

The formidable glass-and-steel fracture rose from its position on Front Street like a glittering needle threading the sky.

Recommend it for…

  • Fans of fantasy
cjombine_images
3 thoughts on “CITY OF ASHES by Cassandra Clare | Review

  1. Pingback: Cassandra Clare Talks 'City of Ashes' Script | Young Adult Hollywood

Leave a Reply

