Top 10 Tuesday | Books I was Forced to Read

5e7e9-toptentuesday

Top 10 Tuesday is a feature/weekly meme created at the broke and the bookish

First of all, I cannot say that I’ve ever been “forced” to read a book, but I often felt like I had to read something mostly due to peer pressure. Most of the times the book turned out to be pretty good, but at some occasions I ended up really disliking the book.

So, first the good ones:

1. Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling

Yes! You read correctly. I never wanted to read this book, but my cousin was raving about it and got it to me as a gift for my 11th birthday, so I decided to give it a try and guess what? It’s my favorite book up until today!

2.Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan

This one is one of my brother’s favorites and he insisted I should read! Since he already had the books I started reading them and ended up loving them!

Review of Book #3, Book #4 and Book #5

3. Anna and the french kiss by Stephenie Perkins

I refused reading this book, because of the cover and the title! They’re both just terrible! But after hearing everyone raving about it, I finally read it and it was REALLY good!!!

4. The fault in our stars by John Green

This one, I wasn’t opposed to reading. It sounded quite interesting, but I never would have picked it up if all these people weren’t talking about it! I actually only found out about it a few months ago and instantly felt like I had to read it!!!

5. The DaVinci Code by Dan Brown

Well, this book was so popular some years ago, that I again felt like I had to read it! I remember I would walk into a bookstore and there were millions of copies for this book and every librarian was recommending it! And they really knew what they were talking about!

6. The eight by Katherine Neville

My best friend in highschool had read this book and she was really excited about it and always telling me how I should read it! So I bought it and it was very, very good! It’s actually in the same style as the DaVinci Code, so if you enjoyed that one, I highly recommend this one too!

7. Pongwiffy by Kaye Umansky

My best friend in elementary school was pressuring me to read this book, because according to her it was hilarious. So I borrowed the book from her and read it and it gradually became one of my favorite childhood series!

And now onto te bad ones! Books I was “forced” to read and didn’t like:

8. This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen

Sarah Dessen is generally a highly appreciated young adult author, so since everyone was talking about how great all her books are, I started reading this one. It was a total disappointment! I didn’t like almost anything about this book, apart from a couple of characters and ended up giving this 3 stars, which was even generous! My review about it.

9. The 5th wave by Rick Yancey

I’m sure most of you have heard about this book, or even read it and thought it was great, but it was really not for me! I was hesitant to read this to begin with, because I’m not really into alien books, but everyone was finding it great, so I ended up reading it, but I wish I didn’t!

10. Michael Strogoff by Jules Verne

 This book has a long story for me, because I was actually named after the female lead character of this book, whose name was Nadia. So, my parents always told me I should read this book, but for some reason when I was younger, I really objected to reading it. When I got a bit older I realized I HAD to read it, but I was a bit past the target audience and found the story quite childish and old-fashioned! I’m still really sad I didn’t like this, though… I might try it again someday.

Let me know which books you feel like you were forced to read! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday | Books I was Forced to Read

  1. Anna & the French Kiss = the same thing for me. So glad I took the plunge though (and really happy they redid those covers. So much more… fitting now.) And I feel like so many book bloggers are pushers of Dessen. I read that one very early in my Dessen books and I liked it a lot. I think she is a rite of passage somehow.

    Have a great week!!

  2. I adore Harry Potter, my all time favourite book series ever! I read the first Percy Jackson book but wasn’t completely sold on it at the time. Now after seeing it on so many other peoples lists I really feel like I should give them another try, feel like I’m missing out on something great! My TTT

Leave a Reply

