A SHADE OF VAMPIRE by Bella Forrest | Review

Title: A Shade of Vampire

Author: Bella Forrest

Book #: 1 in the “A Shade of Vampire” series

Publication: December 2012

Pages: 149

Author’s Website

Source: Review copy from the author

Rating: jcombine_images

On the evening of Sofia Claremont’s seventeenth birthday, she is sucked into a nightmare from which she cannot wake.

A quiet evening walk along a beach brings her face to face with a dangerous pale creature that craves much more than her blood.

She is kidnapped to an island where the sun is eternally forbidden to shine.
An island uncharted by any map and ruled by the most powerful vampire coven on the planet. She wakes here as a slave, a captive in chains.

Sofia’s life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn when she is the one selected out of hundreds of girls to join the harem of Derek Novak, the dark royal Prince.

Despite his addiction to power and obsessive thirst for her blood, Sofia soon realizes that the safest place on the island is within his quarters, and she must do all within her power to win him over if she is to survive even one more night.

Will she succeed? …or is she destined to the same fate that all other girls have met at the hands of the Novaks?

Synopsis from Goodreads.com

“I know an excuse when I hear one. Don’t you dare deceive yourself into believing that you’re the victim, Derek Novak.” 

Review

I have so many mixed feelings about this book. I did enjoy reading it and finished it in almost one sitting, but I certainly felt that there were some things missing.

First of all the book is only 149 pages long. Even though I usually like small books, I think that this one could use a few more pages. Some things were not thoroughly explained and I felt like the author was trying to rush through a lot. It actually felt like a contest of trying to say as many things as you can in as few words as possible. There were too many things going on the one after the other and we didn’t really get to know the main characters. I think the book would be much better if it went a bit more slowly.

As far as the storyline goes, I can’t say that it was very original. It was quite similar to twilight actually. The setting, on the other hand was quite original and it was sort of mixing the new take on vampires (aka twilight take) with the old vampire myths, that have vampires living in clans and having humans as their slaves.

The book is written from two points of views – Sophia and Derek. Sophia’s character was a bit strange. It didn’t feel very real to be honest. She was kidnapped and brought to this vampire clan and she hardly shows any signs of surprise! As if stuff like that happens every day. Derek was a bit more interesting. I didn’t really like the insta love in this book. I’m not generally against insta love, but in this case there was no reason for Derek to instantly fall in love with Sophia. There wasn’t anything really special about her, so I would prefer to see a slower falling-in-love process.

Despite all that, I kind of liked the book and found myself thinking about it after I’d finished reading it. As I said, I really wish it had been a bit longer, so that I could get a little bit more into the story and get to know the characters more.

This is a book series consisting of 5 books. The next books aren’t as small as this one and have better ratings on goodreads, which probably means that the series is going to get better! I’m not really sure if I’m going to continue with the series, though…

First Line

“I never once imagined that my life would play out the way it did.”

Recommend it for…

  • Anyone looking for a quick and easy read
  • Vampire fans
Add it on Goodreads

jcombine_images

Leave a Reply

