ANGELFALL by Susan Ee | Review

Title: Angelfall

Author: Susan Ee

Book #: 1 in the “Penryn and the End of Days” trilogy

Publication: May 2013 by Hodder and Stoughton

Pages: 325

Author’s Website

Rating: comhbine_images

It’s been six weeks since the angels of the apocalypse destroyed the world as we know it. Only pockets of humanity remain.

Savage street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night.

When angels fly away with a helpless girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back…

Synopsis from Goodreads.com

“Oh, please. Your giant head is getting too big for this forest. Pretty soon, you’re going to get stuck trying to walk between two tress. And then, I’ll have to rescue you.” I give him a weary look. “Again.” 

Review

What can I really say about this book…

It got my attention from the very first page and I couldn’t put it down until the very last one! The plot, the characters, the dialogs, everything was absolutely flawless.

The book started off in the middle of action and continued being full of action throughout the whole story. There was really nothing I felt was missing from this book. I was also always having a clear picture in my head of everything that I was reading. So it felt kinda like reading a movie script and I hope it gets turned into a movie someday. The only thing that annoyed me a bit is that it became a little too gross at some point towards the end, but that was really just a minor problem.

I loved almost every character of this book. My top two favorites would have to be Penryn, the main character, and her mother. Penryn is very strong female character, always ready to take action and practically taking care of her mother and little sister. Her mother is really a very interesting character. She is suffering from some sort of mental disease and she thinks that demons are talking to her and making her do things. Of course with this kind of book one can never be sure if she really is crazy, or if everything she is imagining is really true. She is mainly the thing that makes this book so creepy and dark at times.

Another thing I really enjoyed about this book were the dialogs between Penryn and Raffe, the angel. They were witty, clever, simply fantastic! Instead of trying to explain them, here are a couple of examples:

Penryn: “Here, I’ll show you how to use it. Let me see your foot.”

Raffe: “That’s a pretty intimate demand in the angel world. It usually takes dinner, some wine, and sparkling conversation for me to give up my feet.” 

 Raffe: “I never kid about my warrior demigod status.” 
Penryn: “Oh. My. God.” I lower my voice, having forgotten to whisper. “You are nothing but a bird with an attitude. Okay, so you have a few muscles, I’ll grant you that. But you know, a bird is nothing but a barely evolved lizard. That’s what you are.” 

One of the best books I’ve read this year! I’m looking forward to the sequel coming out this fall and any other book by Susan Ee. Really, just one of a kind! And I’m not even a fan of angel books.

First Line

“Ironically, since the attacks, the sunsets have been glorious.”

Recommend it for…

  • Angel lovers
  • Anyone who wants to read something fast-paced, with action, witty dialogs and a bit of romance
  • Fans of the Tv show “Supernatural”
Add it on Goodreads

comhbine_images

Leave a Reply

